Rovers 0 - 1 Bonagee

Published on 23 January 2022 at 18:15

Ulster Senior League

Date: Sunday 23rd Jan 2022 
Time: 2:00pm 
Location: Aura

Sam Harvey made his debut today for the Seniors.

A late Tony McNamee penalty saw Bonagee Utd defeat Letterkenny Rovers 1-0 after a typical derby attritional battle at the Aura on Sunday afternoon.


This was Bonagees first win over their local rivals this season in what was a game devoid of any real chances with respective goalkeepers Christopher O'Donnell and Oisin Cannon not really having much to do until the 87th minute saw O'Donnells clearance found its way to  Jordan Armstrong who in turn played in Gareth Harkin and he was upended by O'Donnell with McNamee despatching the resultant spotkick with superb aplomb.


Bonagee had the better of the early exchanges and had a goal chalked off on 13 minutes for a foul but while the action was frenetic the closest any side came in the opening half to grabbing a goal was when Sean McBride shot went narrowly wide for Rovers.


In truth while there was plenty of endeavour and commitment from both sides the game was a real scrappy affair and the second half was no different although there were some  chances as the game began to open up a little  with veteran Davitt Walsh teeing up McBride who shot just over on 62 minutes while Ronan Gallagher saw his goalbound effort for the home side thwarted by the retreating Daragh Ellison on 70 minutes.


Jack Parke then fired just over for Bonagee before Ellison then tried his luck and saw his well struck effort hit the side netting on 81 minutes before the deciding moment in the game came in the 87th minute with the penalty being netted by McNamee which broke a game Rovers side who put in a  really tenacious display.


Letterkenny Rovers: Christopher O'Donnell, Rory Gallagher, Tim Callaghan, Gabriel Aduaka, Christopher Malseed, Dean McCarry, Simon McGlynn, Sean McBride, Davitt Walsh, Ronan Gallagher, Gareth Doherty.

Subs: Oran Winston for Rory Gallagher 17 mins, Sam Harvey for McBride 78 minutes


Bonagee Utd: Oisin Cannon, Jamie Lynagh, Daragh Ellison, Mark Harkin, Packie Mailey, Gareth Breslin, Gareth Harkin, Dean Larkin, Tony Mcnamee, Micheal Doherty, Garbhan Grant.

Subs: Jack Parke for Breslin 65 mins, Jordan Armstrong for larkin 67 mins, Aidan McLaughlin for Grant 72 mins, Sean Hume for Lynagh 85 mins.


Referee: Richard Storey